Home » Food » A pizza of my heart 

A pizza of my heart 

Warning – don’t read this blog on an empty stomach.

Before we start, I really want to say this – Every pizza me loves every pizza you.
(And then I wonder why I’m single Haha!!)

The word PIZZA is enough to make my stomach rumble in excitement, so when I was notified that a bloggers meet is being organized by IBA in association with Indori Zayka , at Ground Baking – you can imagine my reaction.

Groundbreaking – Groundbaking is a house turned cafe offering a casual & upbeat environment. Its bright yellow walls provide the perfect backdrop and wooden picnic tables just completes the ‘carefree’ look. Inner orange wall has beautiful hanging photographs, including one that says, “No drama, only pizza!” *wink wink*


Groundbaking serves classic new york style pizzas which grew out of Neapolitan style pizza when Italian immigrants brought pizza to NYC and America, in the early 1900s. It’s traditionally 18 inches but this place customized the size for its customers and offers a 12″, 16″ & 20″ pizza. New York style pizzas are large and wide with thin crust, golden brown with some occasional dark spots, easily foldable & yet maintaining its crisp.

We were served 5 different kinds of pizzas from their new gourmet menu. After having a slice from the third pizza, I realized it was “Mission: Impizzable,” but I couldn’t stop eating. Sorry for the pun, but there’s more to come. Oops, I did it again.

We were welcomed with freshly brewed Lemon Ice Tea. Usually, you can’t taste anything beyond sugar in an ice tea, but the chef changed my opinion. It’s tartness perfectly balances its sweetness. The zesty lemon flavor perfectly blends with bitter tea flavor, which is quite strong. Fair warning – It’s refreshing but it’s not too sweet (which I personally loved!) but if you don’t have a palate for tea, avoid this.

  • THIS PLACE DOESN’T SERVE TOMATO SAUCE TO MAINTAIN THE AUTHENTICITY OF A NEW YORK PIZZA. So if you’re one of those who can’t eat a pizza without sauce, this place is NOT FOR YOU. Although I do promise you one thing, you won’t be disappointed with this place.

Our first pizza was FIVE CHEESE PIZZA.
Who doesn’t love cheese? I Do. I know you do too! I literally had to tell myself, “Reva! Just eat one slice! There are 4 other pizzas for tasting too!’ Haha.
The five kinds of cheese that are being used in this are – Mozzarella + cheddar + Gouda + emmanthel + parmesan.

To help us understand the differences better, there was a mini cheese tasting too. I couldn’t have asked for anything more!

Cheddar, Emmanthel & Gouda are hard, Mozzarella is soft & Parmesan is even softer. Mozzarella is made from Italian buffalo milk, Cheddar, Gouda & Parmesan – cow milk, Feta – goat milk.

We also tasted the two essential pizza base sauces – Basil Pesto with Walnut sauce and the traditional Tomato sauce. I loved this pesto sauce.




The five cheese pizza had four flavorful cheese – emmanthel, mozzarella, gouda, & Cheddar on a thin crispy dough, and parmesan cheese on top as it’s really soft and shouldn’t be baked for a long time. Basil gave it a beautiful twist – bit spicy, bit sweet. A member of mint family, basil is considered herb of summer & now I know why. 

My verdict – I’ll give this five cheese pizza, a five-star rating.
We were then served – GREEK PIZZA.

After having a plain cheese pizza, this one was a fun surprise with unusual toppings. Pizzas are all about diversity, right? It had Walnuts, Spinach, Feta cheese, black olives, mozzarella, and artichokes. Feta cheese is salty and tangy, with dry and crumbly texture. The combination of spinach, Feta cheese, olives, artichokes, and Walnuts gives a taste sensation like never before. Although, I did find it a bit salty.

My verdict – good experiment, but not their best. You can pass.
Next came COUCH POTATO PIZZA.


It was served with two variants – with smoked paprika and without. The highlight of this pizza was the perfectly done balsamic reduction. Oven roasted rosemary potatoes with onions, Emmanthel and fennel made a mouthwatering dish. Just one taste and I knew I’ll finish the whole thing. 


Balsamic vinegar reduction amplifies the strong intense flavor of vinegar and it’s sweet flavor complements the salty dish. End result – I bet you won’t be able to stop eating. The one with smoked paprika, as you might have guessed, was spicy. It was like a flavor adventure in my mouth. This pizza has all kinds of sweet and spicy goodness.

My verdict – This is a winner. Do try. If you don’t like spicy, go for the normal version of this dish, which is also a bit on the sweeter side. There, sweet and spice – this dish have it all.
TRIO OF MUSHROOMS PIZZA – 

Mushrooms are a perfect substitute for non veg. After the first bite, I felt bliss. As the name suggests, it has three kinds of mushrooms – button, shitake & black fungus mushrooms, which were tossed in butter, olive oil and garlic. 


Black fungus mushrooms don’t have any flavor of its own and it absorbs the flavors of whatever it is cooked with. In this case, it had strong smokey flavors. The ricotta was prepared by the chef himself, in fact, he even shared its recipe with us.


Fair warning – this is an authentic mushroom pizza and you may not have a palate for it, think twice before ordering and I’ll suggest you ask the chef for suggestions.

My verdict – if you love mushrooms, don’t think twice before ordering it. There’s not mushroom for improvement. 

Bianco

To be honest, by the time this pizza was presented to us, I was stuffed. I didn’t even feel like eating a bite but then I saw rocket leaves as toppings and I convinced myself it’s a very healthy pizza and I should eat it Haha. Rocket leaves are very bitter, hence they were dressed in citrus vinaigrette. I could feel the cream cheese sauce in my mouth and the combination of button mushrooms, smoked paprika, cherry tomatoes and fennel is drool-worthy.

My verdict – It’s cheesy and it’s different. It’s light and it’s refreshing. Do try.
Well, there’s always some room for desserts. 

Creme brulee



Crème brûlée is a French dish and is also known as burnt cream, crema Catalana, or Trinity cream. It consists of a rich custard base topped with a contrasting layer of hard caramel. The highlight of this dish is the caramelization of the sugar with a butane torch right before it was served. 


It’s not heavy, but it’s certainly heavy in taste. I never thought I’ll say this, but I probably like this more than their Blueberry cheesecake, which is my favorite. It’s crunchy and it’s a delight. It’s caramelized topping is brittle & the custard beneath is smooth, and creamy, making it my current favorite dessert.

My verdict – try this right away!!!
Save the best for the last? 


The meeting ended with an epic celebration of indori zayka hitting the 100k milestone with cake cutting of three milk and berries cake. I couldn’t have asked for anything more.

Taste – ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

Ambiance – ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ (the place is really small!)

Service – ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ 

Presentation – ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ 

Overall – ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ 

Pros – 

  • 100% VEGETARIAN PIZZERIA 
  • Authentic New York style pizza.
  • Taste is good.
  • Value for money.
  • Desserts are great too.
  • Location is just next to Indore’s Hotspot – Simi’s bakery. 
  • Freshly made pizzas.

Cons – 

  • Small place.
  • Seating is like a death warrant on a hot summer day.
  • No sauce policy, which many of you may not like.
  • Pizzas can be too authentic for indori palate, so ask before ordering.
  • No home delivery.

The GroundBaking Co. Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

View my food journey on Zomato!

View my food journey on Zomato!

TIMINGS : 11:30AM – 3:00 PM & 5:00 PM TO 11:00 PM

TUESDAYS OFF.

ADDRESS –

BG-293, SCHEME 54, ( two houses next to SIMI’S BAKERY) VIJAY NAGAR.
CONTACT – 0731 4912718

For any queries, you can email me at Revaparihar@gmail.com.

Till next time,

Xoxo.

10 thoughts on “A pizza of my heart 

  1. Have to agree the presentation of the blog is really nice. Photography, minute detailing of cheese and pizzas was worth. Will definitely give a visit. Congratulations for this post🙂✨

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh y gosh you were right about not reading this on an empty stomach! Those pizzas looked ah-may-zing! I love myself a good gourmet pizza and this looks like the perfect spot! I also adored all of your puns! They made me smile! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

