Valentine’s day.

image

Singles are wailing, couples are waiting.

Few hearts will break, few will hate but then again, it’s Valentine’s day.

To be honest, I don’t believe in Valentine’s day. Lemme write the most cliché line you will hear from all the singles or couples who didn’t do anything special this day, “every day is a Valentine’s day.” Or this, that Valentine’s day is total bullshit! A marketed holiday by corporates. It’s like happy valentine’s day, now empty your pockets to avoid a fight with your partner.

But at the same time, it’s not just another day. It’s an opportunity for you to make your loved ones feel special. We don’t do that quite often, right? You don’t take them out on a date making it all about them, every other day. .you don’t shower them with gifts every other day. .Do you? So, in that sense. .I believe in Valentine’s day. Just because it’s an opportunity for you to tell them how much they mean to you. Now c’mon, We don’t do that on an ordinary day.

image

I can’t help but feel a little pang of jealousy seeing happy couples. I’m assuming I don’t have to rant to tell you people that I’m single. But, at the same time. .it’s so beautiful. I’m a sucker for happy endings!

Coming back to Valentine’s day. .I’ll never understand the concept of gifting flowers to your date. Like why? Flowers are already dying!! Or maybe it’s a way to tell your date, that “listen bae, it’s been going well but it won’t last forever, just like these flowers!”
Let’s talk about chocolates. Why do you have to wait for Valentine’s day to gift me chocolates? I’ll happily accept them any other day!!!
Let’s talk about dinners. Sure, they are a romantic gesture. Just with a little pressure, because come on, it’s Valentine’s day. It HAS to be romantic. Wouldn’t they be better without the added pressure?
And I’ll never understand, why is the guy’s responsibility to make it special? It’s like you are telling your boyfriend ~ shower me with gifts, pamper me, love me, feed me, take me out and make love to me! I mean, come on. .it’s Valentine’s, not your second birthday!!!
(I have never had anyone going out of their way to make this day special, so it may be the jealousy talking. You can ignore :P)

Did you see what I just did? I told you I don’t care about Valentine’s, yet I wrote so much about it. So yes, it is safe to say. . I do believe in Valentine’s. And If you are telling me, you don’t? You really need time to figure out that you actually do. .
Fine it’s a holiday for sentimental & deluded people. Marketing boom for gift companies. But, you know, in the end. .it’s about LOVE. Love people, love.

image

We all want to be loved. We all want to feel special. We all want that sense of belonging. .

You know, you do.

So stop being so cynical. Don’t give bad names to people who celebrate it. Don’t call it bullshit. You like someone, go ahead, ask them out. You don’t? Ignore this day. But do not laugh at those who believe in love. It is special for them, if not for you. Happy Valentine’s day.

P. S – my romantic self is still waiting for my knight in shining armor on a white horse. After all, Love is all we need. .;)

image

128 Comments Add yours

  1. Amrit says:

    Nice one…I loved the last quote 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thanks Amrit! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am waiting for my knight in shining armour too! I think Valentine’s Day is not just for lovers , its a day for Love in all aspects , it is a time to treat ourselves , to make our loved ones feel special or even a day to spent with your best pal! 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Keith says:

    Don’t worry yourself with the knight. Find a guy who will treat you right, make you laugh and has a job. If he is handy with a crescent wrench, even better. Happy Valentine’s Day.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Haha! That’s just a metaphor. I just wanted to write that I’m still waiting for him. But since I like to dramatise everything, that line happened!! When you fall in love, you let go of your expectations anyway right! And as you said, if he can make me laugh & smile. . Oh man! I’ll marry him right away 🙈💕

    Like

  6. Agreed! I wanted to write about that too, but for a change I decided to keep it short this time 😝
    I hope you find your special one soon, or he finds you 😄
    Happy valentine’s ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you! I wish you the same ! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Let’s make a promise, whenever we do that. .We’ll write a big post about it and tag each other 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Happy Rose day! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Happy rose day 💕

    Like

  11. One more line I hear on V Day.. “Don’t have a valentine on Valentine’s Day? Don’t worry, people don’t have Aids on acids day as well’ 😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I’ll come back tomorrow to wish u again…tomorrow is propose day I hear 😉😉

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Haha! Yeah. . That’s quite a popular one actually 😝

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I’ll check! 😛😅

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Ya let’s ! 🙂 pinkie promise! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Have a great Valentine’s! Happy blogging 💃

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Vamagandhi says:

    True. After a year of kick-assing, fun-filled friendship and revelries, suddenly on a given date I used to realise, hey! let’s pick up a rose this valentine. Going blind with no idea whom the rose will end up to. The bloom and flushes as you step towards somebody is worth a day to celebrate.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Somebody definitely is! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Vamagandhi says:

    yeah, must have been years before i became dad of two kids 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  20. “It’s all about love…” quote pretty much sums up everything. Happy Valentine’s!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. TheMonk says:

    Love is the best thing happened to the mystery which is our life. I believe in it. If valentine day celebrates it then that is good , right? I hope it is worth to wait for “valentine”.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Congratulations! 💃

    Like

  23. Happy valentine’s! 😇

    Liked by 1 person

  24. paulamarie876 says:

    That last quote though… soooooooooooo cute! love your post as usual 🙂 you’re awesome

    Liked by 2 people

  25. I love you for this! Thank you! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  26. NaushilMehta says:

    Are you Priyanka Chopra’s relative?

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Why did you say that? 😝🙈

    Like

  28. NaushilMehta says:

    You look like her. Pretty, very charming. I wish you were my friend, school friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. That’s an incredibly sweet thing to say! 💃 thank you!! 💕

    Like

  30. sanoberkhan says:

    Last quote is very beautiful… Just like you! And awesome post! Happy valentine’s day!

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Thanks Sanober! ❤😙

    Liked by 1 person

  32. sanoberkhan says:

    Nice! I was asking for your full name dear,let me know if you are a hidden celeb!

    Liked by 1 person

  33. Oh man how I wish! But No! 🙈

    Liked by 1 person

  34. sanoberkhan says:

    You are!And if not,you will be

    Liked by 1 person

  35. solonjathi says:

    Reblogged this on Rebloger and commented:
    Well said, Valentine’s day is for boyfriends to dig deeper and corporates to earn more…
    Fo llow reblog504.wordpress.com for more insights!

    Liked by 1 person

  36. You are making me smile so big right now 🙈😄

    Liked by 1 person

  37. You just made my day! Thank you so much ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  38. To you too ! 🙂 ❤

    Like

  39. sanoberkhan says:

    Great! I love shakes and smiles!

    Like

  40. solonjathi says:

    Welcome pal. Send in links to inspirational posts to solonjathi@gmail.com for reviews and reblogs

    Liked by 1 person

  41. And now abide faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love (1Corinth. 13:13).

    Liked by 1 person

  42. Eliza Cojoli says:

    Well said and I agree completely. Keep loving yourself and may equal or greater love come back to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  43. bjsscribbles says:

    Made me smile and to think of a time when I was let’s say a little younger I watched my daughters fall in love and get married. They enjoy valentines day

    Liked by 1 person

  44. Such an amazing thing to quote 😇

    Liked by 1 person

  45. Thank you so much! 💕

    Like

  46. Aww! This made me smile so big! Marriage is beautiful ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  47. You write so well.
    Happy valentines day !

    Liked by 1 person

  48. vivachange77 says:

    I like your different takes on Valentines Day.

    Liked by 1 person

  49. Yvonne Lott says:

    I’m one who believe love should be celebrated year-long, but Valentine Day is a special day to celebrate for those in love. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Stay connected.

    Liked by 1 person

  50. Ahh, love, love and love everywhere. Anyways, I liked that you ended up in believing in it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  51. Oh thank you! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  52. Oh thank you! 😁

    Like

  53. Haha! Yup. Hopelessly romantic here. .

    Liked by 2 people

  54. JRKITE says:

    I really liked it. I will say the longer you’re married the harder it is to do something special. (Mostly because I already try to give her everything she wants the rest of the year…so getting her something she doesn’t already have that’s romantic is really hard to do after all these years.)

    Liked by 1 person

  55. haha… boat is packed with idiots including me! 😉 Happy Valentines day in advance. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  56. sedge808 says:

    such a lovely smile

    Liked by 1 person

  57. That is so sweet! Have an amazing valentine’s! 😀

    Like

  58. Aww thank you! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  59. The knight will come when you lest expected and will sweep you off your feet. Great blog, keep up the good work. Happy Vday. Happy Blogging! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  60. Hopefully 😅 thank you for such kind words! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  61. martaryta says:

    When you love you express it every day.you make the other person feel special every day. Just because he is!!!❤️ lots of love for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  62. Couldn’t agree more! xoxo!

    Like

  63. lynn__ says:

    Of course I believe in Valentine’s Day…it’s my birthday 🙂 !

    Like

  64. You’re welcome! And I’ll surely wish you on 14th now 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  65. danetigress says:

    I’ve followed you!

    Like

  66. lustfulheart says:

    it would be weird to say, but you’ve been my muse for this new piece which I’ve written. I’d like to share it exclusively with you. Can I ? Apologies if you find me creepy. 🙂
    Happy Valentines R. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  67. lustfulheart says:

    Did you delete my comment? 🙂 I’m sorry.

    Liked by 1 person

  68. Hey! Sure thing! Send me the link! You got my curiosity on 😉

    Like

  69. Hey no! I didn’t see! You don’t have to be sorry!

    Like

  70. lustfulheart says:

    haha ! I’d rather send you in private?
    If you’re okay.

    Like

  71. Malakhai says:

    I can roll with this philosophy. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  72. Whoa! Thanks man!! Really appreciate it 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  73. lustfulheart says:

    How do I share it ?

    Like

  74. My greeting card: “Give chocolate, not flowers. Flowers die, cellulite is forever.” LOL That said, I think the random acts mean so much more than the Hallmark expectation presents.

    Liked by 2 people

  75. Cellulite is forever! Too good 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  76. lustfulheart says:

    And I’m still waiting for a way to share my writing with you. 🙂

    Like

  77. Just because it’s Valentine’s Day, not because you’re on your own, but because you don’t have that special someone to share your love and life with, right now. Don’t go looking for anyone, hold out for someone who will treat you right. That special person who instinctively knows what you need to brighten up your day. Love the post and February 14 is special for me as it’s my wedding anniversary, we give cards but not gifts that day. Flowers and chocolates are given on other days, to keep the magic alive always. May you find a knight on a white charger when you least expect it!

    Liked by 1 person

  78. Thank you so much! Yes, I’m not rushing! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  79. Good things come to those who wait xoxo you are a truly amazing human being. I’m sure we’ve met before, in a past life maybe?

    Like

  80. shambhavi31 says:

    Hey!! Nice one Reva! 🙂 Love.Love.Love. The world revolves around Love! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  81. B.Well says:

    Wonderfully put. Valentine’s Day…can’t live with it, can’t live without it.

    Liked by 1 person

  82. Oh thank you! 😁

    Like

  83. Geetalima says:

    Awwwwww…..!

    Liked by 1 person

  84. Being single is a pain! 😀

    Like

  85. celestialpowers says:

    Very good way to think about it… Hmmm

    Liked by 1 person

  86. celestialpowers says:

    Me too, hopeless romantic hehehehe

    Liked by 1 person

  87. High five 💕

    Like

  88. celestialpowers says:

    Rbya=right back at you

    Liked by 1 person

  89. I’m so outdated man! I had no idea about this abbreviation 😝

    Liked by 1 person

  90. celestialpowers says:

    Lol!!! It’s cool

    Liked by 1 person

  91. Haha! Keep on updating my dictionary like this 🙌

    Like

  92. celestialpowers says:

    I’ll try my best. BTW, I have other blogs connected to this one.. Feel free to check them out

    Liked by 1 person

  93. So true! Simply true! It’s definitely true that love exists everday but we definitely fail to prove our love to our person. This day just gives us an opportunity to tell our better half, “Hey! You’re my person.” ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  94. You’re my 150th like 😀
    Thank you so much for a wonderful comment, I’m hope you are with that special one right now, and if not I’ll pray you be with him soon 🙂

    Like

  95. Hahaha! I hope that brought a smile on your face! Yes with him! Three years now ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  96. You could check out my blog as well, would love to get reviewed by a writer like you ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  97. It did, it did! Congratulations ❤

    Like

  98. What a coincidence! I was already on your page then 😀 oh girl, you’re amazing!!

    Liked by 1 person

  99. A little less than you! 😉 but thanks 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  100. Haha no! I can never rhyme! I saw your poem!! Too good!!

    Like

  101. Thankyou so much ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  102. Hargun Wahi says:

    Though Valentine’s long gone and I’m reading this a bit late, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it…I loved this post. After all, its all about love 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  103. Indeed 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  104. mickeyfiction says:

    Awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  105. Beautifully expressed. Heya! I am nominating u for the bloggers recognition award…https://manjeetwhatif.wordpress.com/2016/07/08/thank-you-for-nominating-me-for-blogger-recognition-award/

    Liked by 1 person

  106. Wow! This means a lot!! Thank you so much!!! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  107. Thank you 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  108. J.K. says:

    It’s a good post.

    Liked by 1 person

  109. I’m so glad you liked it 😄 happy blogging!

    Liked by 1 person

  110. J.K. says:

    Stuff like that needs to be said. Likewise!

    Liked by 1 person

  111. Thank you for such kind words, it’s a goody good morning for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  112. J.K. says:

    You are welcome.

    Liked by 1 person

  113. J.K. says:

    Lol, well goodnight from here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

